Accessing router in isolated scope

I’m not sure if this question is more on the Aurelia side or the DevExpress side, but here goes: RE this example: https://github.com/PWKad/aurelia-devextreme-sample

I have the DevExpress component wrapped with an Aurelia customElement which works fine. I’m trying to navigate when the row is clicked. The dx component configuration lets you set a handler function for “onRowClick”. This also works, I get the data item in question. The issue is that this handler function is an isolated scope to the control, and I need to use this.router.navigateToRoute from the parent. I’m new to both Aurelia and DevExpress and I’m out of ideas on this. Using location.assign works, but it does a full page reload, so that’s not ideal.

If anyone can point me in a general direction I would appreciate the help. :slight_smile:

I don’t really follow specifics because you linked a repo and I’m not sure where I’m looking in the repo.

One option would be to pass a .call binding in your customElement.

app.html

<my-component on-row-clicked.call="router.navigateToRoute('somewhere')"></my-component>

my-component-custom-element.js

@bindable onRowClicked;

attached() {
  configureTheComponent({
    rowClick: () => this.onRowClicked()
  });
}

Another, arguably better approach is to dispatch a custom event.

app.html

<my-component rowclicked.delegate="router.navigateToRoute('somewhere')"></my-component>

my-component-custom-element.js

attached() {
  configureTheComponent({
    rowClick: (all, the, data) => this.element.dispatchEvent(new CustomEvent('rowclicked', { 
      detail: { all, the, data } // you can use this to pass data upwards to your app view model
    });
  });
}

I wrote a short blog that might help you: http://davismj.me/blog/aurelia-drag-and-drop/

1 Like