<div class="navbar-header">
      <a class="navbar-brand" href="#">
        <i class="fa fa-home"></i>
        <span>${router.title}</span>
      </a>
    </div>
  </nav>  
</template>

What I would like is for the router’s title to change depending on the current view. I.e. the “home” menu text changes depending on the view. The application has three views, one “overview” view (route [’’, ‘home’]) and one “details” view and one graph view. For the two latter views I would like the “home” menu text to be e.g. something like 'To the overview". Is this possible? If so, how could it be implemented?

TIA

norgie

For these kinds of questions, it might be useful to specify which version of Aurelia you are currently using (either v1 or v2-alpha).

I have no relevant experience with v2 yet, but I do know that its routing mechanisms have been revamped considerably. I will try to make some suggestions based on Aurelia v1 here, but perhaps they will also (partly) apply to v2.

My first thought would be to make use of fitting Router Events in your nav-bar component. But perhaps that scatters your logic too much. You probably don’t want any view-related logic inside your nav-bar.

So instead you might consider to create a custom event that will be dispatched from your view(s) and will be handled by the nav-bar. In the event object, you could pass the text value to display in your nav-bar header. That way the view stays in control of what should be shown in the nav-bar header.

To overcome the issue that you would need to dispatch the custom event in every view you use, you might actually combine the two above strategies:

1. Let the nav-bar handle a Router Event (probably the router:navigation:processing event) to clear its header text or set it to a default value.
  2. Let the nav-bar handle a custom event to update its header text based on a string value that is supplied by a view that dispatched the new custom event (probably in its activate lifecycle callback).