How to use <script> in the Aurelia?

I am new to Aurelia. For the following example, I know that the code between <body> will be in home.html inside <template>. But where will the code between <script> will be? inside home.js?

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<body>

<h2>Finding HTML Elements by Id</h2>

<p id="intro">Hello World!</p>
<p>This example demonstrates the <b>getElementsById</b> method.</p>

<p id="demo"></p>

<script>
var myElement = document.getElementById("intro");
document.getElementById("demo").innerHTML = 
"The text from the intro paragraph is " + myElement.innerHTML;
</script>

</body>
</html>

Is there a way to have something like this in Aurelia?
<script src="~/src/script/site.js"></script>

1 Like

This depends on what that site.js is? For example, is this utilities inside the aurelia site, functions that control a specific page, etc.??? If this is simply code to use for the home page (your home.js/html viewmodels) then you’d want to put your viewmodel code inside the home.js which will work with the view because it’s following the proper naming convention when home is routed to. If this is some custom code you’d like to use within your site then you could place it in your main.js which is your initial loading script. If it’s just a custom JS library you’d simply call import '/path/to/script.js';. If you made it a js module then you could DI it just like import {MyThingy} from 'path/to/script.js';within the viewmodels you want to use it in.

1 Like

Yes it have JavaScript DOM Methods. Like the example above:

var myElement = document.getElementById(“intro”);
document.getElementById(“demo”).innerHTML =
"The text from the intro paragraph is " + myElement.innerHTML;

1 Like