Is Direct Routing no longer supported in Aurelia 2?

I’m just beginning to get my feet wet with Aurelia 2. One of the things I had seen described early on with 2 was direct routing – the idea of defining loading/displaying routes right in your view.

I tried playing with this in gist.dumber.app and I cannot seem to get it working. Dwayne Charrington had a blog post about routing in Aurelia 2. In it, he has a link to read more about direct routing in Aurelia 2 in the docs – but that link results in Page not found.

Has the idea of direct routing been removed from Aurelia 2

Incidentally, here is the code I was trying on gist.dumber.app

my-app.html

<import from="./products"></import>

<a load="products" href="#">Products</a>

<au-viewport name="main" default="products"></au-viewport>

products.html

<h1>This is the Products page with a message: ${message}</h1>

products.js

export class Products {
   message = "Here is the message";
}

Nothing from the Products view gets displayed.

Yes, direct routing still supported. Scaffolding a project using the standard npx makes aurelia requires a slightly different configuration in the main.(js|ts) to enable direct routing.

The main file that is generated as part of the standard scaffolded project looks like this

import Aurelia from "aurelia";
import { MyApp } from "./my-app";

Aurelia.app(MyApp).start();

to enable direct routing the main file needs to be altered slightly to register the router configuration needed for direct routing.

import Aurelia, { RouterConfiguration } from "aurelia";
import { MyApp } from "./my-app";

Aurelia.register(RouterConfiguration).app(MyApp).start();

I tried this with both webpack and dumber projects scaffolded with npx makes aurelia and they both worked, but when I tried the same thing on the gist.dumber.app site it unfortunately errored out.

I’m not very familiar with gist.dumber.app, so I’m not sure of the solution to that issue.

1 Like