Learning Aurelia question - dom operations in aurelia ux

I’m a bit new to Aurelia and am trying to learn the fundamentals of forms and data binding. I startedd looking into some examples like aurelia-ux, and noticed that a lot of the components do lots of dom operations and event handling within the viewmodel (.ts) file.

I was reading the docs though - and they generally seem to utilize the view engine to do stuff like keyup event binding and to use the for, if, etc helpers for rendering components. So my question is why does the aurelia-ux library do so much of this outside of the template and in the viewmodel?

for example in: https://github.com/aurelia/ux/blob/master/packages/form/src/ux-field.ts

if (this.label && !this.element.querySelector('label')) {
      this.labelElement = document.createElement('label');
      this.labelElement.classList.add('ux-field__label');
      this.labelElement.textContent = this.label;

Thanks!

1 Like

As you can see from the template of the ux-field element:

<template>
  <slot></slot>
</template>

There’s no <label/>. The reason it cares is that it may or may not be used with a <label/>:

<!-- with a label element -->
<ux-field>
  <label>${some text}</label>
  <ux-input value.bind="..."></ux-input>
</ux-field>

<!-- without a label element -->
<ux-field label="Some ${label}">
</ux-field>

And the 2nd example (without label) is the reason why it does such thing in the view model. I’m guessing you are asking why it does so in such imperative way, there’s a more declarative way:

export class UxField {
  @child('label') labelEl: HTMLLabelElement;

labelElChanged() {
    if (!this.labelEl) {
      // does not come with label, do something
    }
  }
}

But the above won’t play nicely with shadow DOM emulation mode, which is what the <ux-field/> is using, where it won’t fire labelElChanged, if not using shadowDOM, without a mutation:

<!-- will call labelElChanged() -->
<ux-field>
  <label>${some text}</label>
</ux-field>