Mapping JSON from API call to TypeScript classes

I’m planning on using Aurelia and TypeScript on a project – but I’m relatively new to TypeScript. On past projects (without TypeScript), I’ve always just used the JSON objects returned by the API and bound those objects to my View.

//ViewModel
response = await fetch(apiString, { method: "GET" });
if(response.ok)
    this.items = response.json();

//View
<div repeat.for="item of items">${item.description}</div>

However, this doesn’t really jibe with the TypeScript idea of strong typing. But, the thought of re-defining every class/property returned by the server on my client seems a bit … redundant and painful.

Not only would I need to define each API response as a TypeScript class, it seems as though I would also need to map the JSON from the API call to the TypeScript class property by property – or maybe I could get away with somehow using the spread operator to map all the properties?

Is this normal practice when using TypeScript? Is there a nice compromise somewhere? Does one have to map each property

1 Like

First of all you wouldnt map it to classes but Interfaces instead. Thats enough for type safety and removes the class overhead. Mapping itself can be done by simply casting the result. Now in order to get typesafety you will have to … well type it. See what i did there :wink:
Good news though, depending on your backend there might be a good chance that there is a Type generator.
Eg If you’re using swagger this here might come in handy https://www.npmjs.com/package/swagger-ts-generator

2 Likes

Nswag is another choice. TS clients can be generated from Asp.net Core Api or from a swagger file.

3 Likes

Your play on words did not go unnoticed! :slight_smile: I apologize, because my question is getting further and further away from Aurelia and more toward TypeScript at this point.

After playing around with casting like you mentioned, I’m a tad confused.

interface IStep {
    name: string;