Testing with aurelia-testing and StageComponent - how to inject an aurelia-store into the component?

I’m new to Aurelia. I’m working with an existing app that is using aurelia-testing & aurelia-store.

Components are doing this:

@connectTo<State>({
	onChanged: "stateChanged",
	target: "state",
} as ConnectToSettings<State>)

I’ve followed the guide on aurelia.io and my test is creating a new ComponentTester using the StageComponent.withResources

beforeEach(async () => {
  component = StageComponent.withResources("./cover-needs.html")
    .inView("<cover-needs></cover-needs>");
  await component.create(bootstrap);
});

Is there a way that I can inject the initial state of the aurelia-store to the component that I want to test here?

if you scroll a bit down on the testing docs there is the form shown of providing custom bootstrapping. in there you get access to au and further the di container

component.bootstrap(aurelia => {
        aurelia.use.standardConfiguration();

aurelia.container.registerInstance(Service, service);
      });

so use the container to grab the store instance and set the initial state manually via store.resetToState or directly overwriting (store as any)._state.setValue(yourstate)

1 Like

When you say use the container to grab the store, does that mean the store should be a public (using TS) member of the component? For example this is the component I’m trying to test (State is the store btw).

@connectTo<State>({
	onChanged: "stateChanged",
	target: "state",
} as ConnectToSettings<State>)
@autoinject()
@applyTooltips(".cover-needs")
export class CoverNeeds {
	private state: State;
    ... etc

What would the component.bootstrap implementation look like for setting the store? Do I need to refactor the component?