What are you learning? What to learn next?

I wasn’t sure how to categorize this or if it is even appropriate.

I’ve been using Aurelia with TypeScript for a little over two years now. I’m still smitten and, for better or worse, have little to no interest in other frameworks as I feel they’re simply going to be a bunch of headache and little gain. Aurelia lets me focus on my goals and not the framework.

I’ve been developing for nearly 20 years. Anyone who has worked in development for more than 5 years has probably noticed the cyclical nature of technology, especially where development is concerned. The language/framework/etc. “New Hotness” is created because of “Old Awful’s” flaws. After a few years, “New Hotness” has lost it’s luster and someone creates “Super Sexy” which looks a lot like “Old Awful” with some tweaks. This has led me to a point where I’m incredibly cynical whenever a new savior is proclaimed.

What out there is exciting to other Aurelia devs? What are you currently learning?

3 Likes

Currently learning React. Can’t say I like it much, but I don’t really have a choice: that is where the jobs are these days.

1 Like

My next learning path will probably be Wasm related, Blazor comes to mind.
That being said, there is no way we will ditch Aurelia any time soon, we built our tooling around it, it’s stable, and we are still very happy with it. It’s probably the first framework that doesn’t give me FOMO over other newer and shiny things, probably because it doesn’t frustrate me often :smiley:

2 Likes

@stevies
That’s unfortunately how I’ve also tended to choose what to learn. I had to pick up PHP a few years because that was all I could find around where I live. What would you say is your biggest issue with React?

@arnederuwe
What is it about WebAssembly that attracts you to it? Are your projects geared toward being computationally heavy?

1 Like

@YardGnomeNinja