Contributing to Aurelia vNext

Greetings!

It’s been almost a year since I first started experimenting with some ideas for Aurelia vNext. Since then we’ve built up a core team around vNext who have been doing some amazing work! The next major version of Aurelia is coming along well and we’re super excited for its future.

Some of you have been asking about contributing to Aurelia vNext. In light of that I would like to extend an official invitation to join us in building Aurelia’s next major version. If you’ve ever wanted to get involved with an open source project or just give back to the community, this is a great opportunity and the timing is right to be part of something special.

You may be thinking “but I’m not experienced enough to build X, Y, Z” or “I’ve never contributed to a major project before and I’m nervous about the process” or even “I wouldn’t even know how to help”. I’d like to put those fears to rest. On a project like ours, there’s an opportunity for each and every interested person to contribute, regardless of their background or experience. You don’t have to be a JavaScript or TypeScript wizard or have any past open source experience. Our core team is committed to collaborating with all who want to join in.

There are so many ways you can add value, even if you don’t feel comfortable contributing feature code or bug fixes. Here’s a few ideas to consider:

• Help us improve our README files in the repo.
  • Help us plan out and/or write tutorials and documentation.
  • Get involved with the RFC process and lend your real world use cases.
  • Help us triage GitHub issues.
  • Help us fix lint errors or improve our TypeScript strictness.
  • Help us write more unit tests.
  • Help us write e2e tests.
  • Help us build some basic demos.
  • Build/Share open source vCurrent apps/demos that we can use to test vNext.
  • Really, anything you can think of…