Huge amount of repaint/reflow (animationFrameRequest)

Case: View with nested use of custom elements
Seems that each dom element added causing animationFramerequest (RAF)

NB! not blaming framework :slight_smile: (I’m a beginner)
It’s a principal question:
Ho to reduce number of repaint / reflow in case where loading a view causing
big change in number of element in DOM

Problem is from an existing application in production state
Hopefully solvable without big rewrite
(can not use virtual repeat, row/cell hight not deterministic)

If you are running into perf issue, you can check if you are doing expensive work before or after a view is attached to the DOM. If possible, move logic related to manipulate elements from attached() to bind(), if you don’t have to calculate their real dimension. Would be easier to help if you can give some code examples. Beside that, some number would be nice: how big is the array, etc…

No manipulation in attached(), bind() used. Mayby it the css causing Aurelia putting
all elemets in requestAnimationFrame queue… ?

Modified aurelia-binding.js with a conso.log of queue.length

Loading real data, 91672 goes into queue.length (Aurelia queue request for animationFrame)
console when loading view in browser. get 117 message of
aurelia-binding.js:155 [Violation] ‘requestAnimationFrame’ handler took 77ms (variation 50ms - 150ms)

This is the connect-queue placing the observeProperty calls inside RAF. 91672 property descriptors (or a multiple thereof) are created to observe all your view models.
You can verify this by adding & oneTime to your interpolations and/or .one-time in your binding expressions.
What does your view look like?

Note: the problem isn’t really the RAF or connect-queue itself, but rather that there are a whopping 91k things to observe. This is going to be slow no matter what you do. If acceptable, using oneTIme bindings would be your way to go. That would work if the data properties don’t change after loading.